Oh dear…I love pumpkin and these pumpkin muffins are no exception.  They are so moist and the best part about them is the ooey, gooey cream cheese pocket in the center.  A-mazing.  This recipe makes 24 muffins, so…eat them all, give some away or freeze them for a quick breakfast later on.

I got this recipe from Mel’s Kitchen Cafe.  I love her blog and use a lot of her recipes.  I adjusted the recipe slightly.

Pumpkin Cream Cheese Muffins
3 C flour
1 t cinnamon
1 T pumpkin pie spice
1 t baking soda
1 t salt
4 eggs
2 C sugar *I actually cut the sugar to 1 1/2 C.  I like to stick to 3/4 C of sugar per 12 muffins.  That’s 1 T of sugar per muffin.  I mean, I’m not trying to serve dessert for breakfast.  
2 C pumpkin
1 1/4 C oil or applesauce.  *I usually do a mixture.  This time I did 1/2 C coconut oil and 3/4 C applesauce.  

8 oz cream cheese, softened
1 C powdered sugar

In small bowl, mix flour-salt.  In large bowl, mix eggs-oil.  Add flour mixture and stir just until combined.  Mix cream cheese and powdered sugar in small bowl.  Grease 2 muffin tins (24 muffins).  Scoop half of the muffin batter into each muffin tin.  (I use the large Pampered Chef scoop and fill it 3/4 of the way full).  Scoop about a heaping teaspoon of the cream cheese filling in each muffin.  (I use the small Pampered Chef scoop and use a full scoop in each muffin.)  Scoop remaining muffin batter on top of the cream cheese.  (Again, use the large P.C scoop 3/4 of the way full.)  Bake on 350 for 20-22 minutes.

This poor muffin is a little lopsided.  I didn’t exactly get the glob in the center.  Hmm..maybe when I don’t have 2 toddlers running around, crying and yanking on me, i can pay more attention to centering my globs of cream cheese.

This recipe is linked to:
Tempt My Tummy Tuesday