I wanted try a new bread recipe.  It was a recipe for rustic, crusty bread.  It was suggested to use when making paninis, which is what we were going to have for lunch on Sunday.  I prepped the dough on Saturday night so all I had to do on Sunday morning was shape it, let it rise and then bake it.  The recipe says to preheat the oven to 450 with the stone in the oven and a broiler pan on the bottom shelf of the oven.  When the bread is ready to bake slide the dough (which is on parchment paper) onto the stone, pour 1 cup of water in the broiler pan and close the oven door.  The high heat mixed with the steam from the water creates this crusty bread.

Well, I didn’t have a broiler pan so I used a glass pyrex pan.  After the oven was preheated, I put my dough on the stone and poured the water into the glass pan.  As soon as the water hit the glass pan, it exploded into a million pieces.

To make matters worse, the twins were in the kitchen when it happened.  As I was getting the broom and telling them to stay away, Noel decides to run over to the glass, which she thinks is ice and put a piece IN HER MOUTH!!!  Seriously child?  I just told you to stay away.  I started screaming “IT’S NOT ICE!!!  IT’S GLASS!!!  STOP!”  I got it out of her mouth, but I guess because I startled her and then started jamming my fingers in her mouth, she was hysterical.  At this point Joe was in the shower yelling “WHAT IS GOING ON OUT THERE?”

And then we went to church.