Soup.  Soup.  Soup.  I’ve had lots of soups on our menu the past couple of weeks.  I guess I am a little anxious to make them all since I haven’t made soup all summer.  This is one of my favorite soups because it uses Uncle Ben’s Wild Rice, which I would eat for dessert I love it so much.  Chicken and Wild Rice soup is warm and filling; great to eat on a cool fall day.

Chicken and Wild Rice Soup
4 C (2 cans) chicken broth
2 C water
1 pkg wild rice
1/2 C butter
2/3 C flour, I use whole wheat
1 t salt; 1/2 t pepper
2 C heavy cream
2 C chicken, cooked and shredded
– In large pot, bring water and broth to a boil.  Add rice (without seasonings packet) and let boil five minutes.  Then cover the pot, remove from heat and let set.  Melt butter in saucepan.  Add seasonings packet, salt, pepper and flour.  Cook 1 minute, stirring constantly.  Whisk in cream a little at a time. Simmer until thickened.  Pour into rice mixture, add chicken and simmer 10-15 minutes.  Serves 6.

This post is linked to
 “Come join SoupaPalooza at TidyMom and Dine and Dish sponsored by KitchenAid,Red Star Yeast and Le Creuset
Tempt My Tummy Tuesday
Ultimate Recipe Swap and